Laidlaw Ethical Leadership Masterclass Registration: Module 2

Laidlaw Ethical Leadership Masterclass Registration: Module 2

Please register for the second module of the Ethical Leadership masterclass by Daniel Effron on this page by selecting a stream that suits you best.

❗️This registration is for undergraduate Laidlaw Scholars from the 2021 cohort or any alumni who have not yet attended. If you are not from those cohorts, please do not order any tickets. 

MODULE 2 STREAMS (Choose one session)

👉 STREAM A: Wednesday 8 June 16:00 UK & IE / 11:00 ET / 23:00 HKT

👉 STREAM B: Wednesday 8 June 19:00 UK & IE / 14:00 ET / 02:00 HKT

👉 STREAM C: Thursday 9 June 14:00 UK & IE / 9:00 ET / 21:00 HKT

👉 STREAM D: Thursday 9 June 17:15 UK & IE / 12:15 ET / 00:15 HKT

 

HOW TO REGISTER

  • You are now signing up for the second session in June. You can choose to attend one session out of four time options for this module; please choose the session that suits you best and click on the link listed above.
  • Each session is capped at 75. Places are first-come, first-served. If you see that a ticket for your stream is unavailable, that means that stream has been filled. If your preferred stream is filled and you absolutely cannot register for any other stream, please contact your university coordinator.
  • You will receive a confirmation email from the Network. Please make sure you add your stream's dates & times to your calendar.
  • Sessions will be hosted on Zoom. You will receive the links to your sessions after registration has closed.
  • You will also have a consolidation session with your University coordinator after each masterclass. Please consult with your coordinator about the times & dates.

If you have any questions about the masterclass, please contact Sarah Gillis at sgillis@london.edu.

 

PROGRAMME DETAILS

What will you learn in this programme?

This programme examines the psychological traps that can lead people to stray from their personal values.

You will explore the following areas:

  • Why do people cross the ethical line?
  • What “ethical blind spots” are we vulnerable to?
  • How can we avoid these blind spots ourselves, and lead others to avoid them?

Learning outcomes

By the end of the programme, you will:

  1. Understand why ethical lapses happen in organisations and society
  2. Learn to identify and act on early indicators of “ethical blind spots”
  3. Determine what blind spots you personally are most vulnerable to
  4. Spot the ethical challenges that you are most likely to face in the future
  5. Identify how you can live up to your values when you face these challenges

What should I expect from this programme?

This programme aims to challenge your assumptions and develop your self-awareness.

We will guide you to apply key concepts of behavioural science to help you to act consistently with your values – and maintain this integrity throughout your career.

You will have the opportunity to apply the learning by discussing a case study, reflecting on your own experiences, and participating in activities that reveal everyone’s capacity for ethical bias.

Your programme faculty

This Programme will be led by Dr Daniel A Effron, Associate Professor of Organisational Behaviour at London Business School.

A social psychologist by training, Dr Daniel A Effron teaches courses on Managing Organisational Behaviour, Developing Effective Managers and Organisations, and Ethics in Work, Organisations, and Society.

His research examines the psychology of how people act in ethically questionable ways without feeling unethical, and what shapes people’s judgments of others’ unethical behaviour. His current projects focus on judgments of hypocrisy, and what leads people to let leaders off the hook for dishonesty.

Dr Effron's research has appeared in top scholarly publications and his work has been discussed in media outlets such as The New York Times, Financial Times, BBC News, The Atlantic, Forbes, and Bloomberg.

Named one of the "Best 40 Business Professors Under 40" by Poets & Quants, he received teaching awards from the London Business School MBA classes of 2015 and 2020, and his doctoral work was honoured with an American Psychological Association Dissertation Award.

To learn more about Dr Effron's research visit www.danieleffron.com

Programme details

  • Initial engagement: you may watch an interview between Susanna Kempe and Daniel Effron that will set the scene for the programme and stimulate your thinking around this topic.
  • Faculty Sessions with Dr Effron: you will attend two live Faculty sessions with a cohort of your peers from other Universities. During the sessions you will gain insights from Daniel’s research and have the opportunity to reflect on your own experiences and examples.
  • Discovery Work: prior to the Faculty sessions, you will be asked to complete some short discovery work; you will complete a survey before your first Faculty session and read a case study article before your second Faculty session.
  • Consolidation Session: after each Faculty session you will meet with your peers in a facilitated workshop to review the learning, feedback questions to Dr Effron and, finally, to create a personal ethics action plan.
  • Capstone: there will be a final in-person event held next year TBC to network with your peers, reflect on your learning and share experiences. More details to follow.

Time commitment 

  • Watch engagement interview - 1 hour
  • Complete survey - 20 minutes
  • Attend live faculty sessions - 2.25 hours x 2
  • Participate in consolidation workshops - 1 hour x 2
  • Read case study article - 30 minutes